arrow-down arrow-leftarrow-rightUPP-Foundation-Logo-AssetsUPP-Foundation-Logo-AssetsUPP-Foundation-Logo-AssetsUPP-Foundation-Logo-AssetsInstagram Facebook Instagram Instagram Linkedin Linkedin Instagram twitter twitter video-play

News | Civic University Commission

Over 50 universities pledge commitment to local communities through Civic University Agreement

The creation of a Civic University Agreement was the principle recommendation of the UPP Foundation Civic University Commission

Over 50 of Britain’s leading universities have reaffirmed their commitment to their local communities by pledging to put the economy and quality of life in their home towns and cities at the top of their list of priorities.

The institutions – which include many of the best-known names in higher education – are committing to produce a ‘Civic University Agreement’ in partnership with local government and other major institutions in their area.

The new agreement is a key recommendation in the report published by the Civic University Commission – set up by the UPP Foundation,

The Truly Civic: Strengthening the connection between universities and their places report has been described by Angela Rayner MP, Shadow Secretary of State for Education as a “blueprint” to increase the value of Universities to their local communities.

Chris Skidmore MP, Minister of State for Universities and Industrial Strategy said of the report: “I’m truly grateful to the UPP Foundation for commissioning this important project, and I hope that the Foundation will continue to lead the agenda and debate on the civic university going forwards.”

The latest Universities to join the #TrulyCivic movement and help the project reach 50 signatories are the University of Bradford, Brunel University London, Southampton Solent University, the University of Central Lancashire and the University of Winchester.

Richard Brabner, Director of the UPP Foundation said: “I’m delighted that over 50 of the UK’s leading universities have signed up to the Civic University Agreement – a key recommendation from our Truly Civic report released earlier this year.

“At the UPP Foundation, we know that many universities want to make a real difference to the cities and communities they are located in. The Civic University Agreement is an opportunity for UK universities to reinvigorate their civic role and I am delighted that we have reached this milestone with over 50 impressive institutions having signed up so far.”

If your university would like to be added to this list, please contact the UPP Foundation to join the #trulycivic movement.


List of signatories

Professor Colin Bailey, President and Principal, Queen Mary University of London

Professor Graham Baldwin, Vice-Chancellor, Southampton Solent University

Professor Liz Barnes, Vice-Chancellor and Chief Executive, Staffordshire University

Sir David Bell, Vice-Chancellor and Chief Executive, University of Sunderland

Professor Dame Janet Beer, Vice-Chancellor, University of Liverpool

Professor Paul Boyle CBE, President and Vice-Chancellor, University of Leicester

Professor George Boyne, Principal and Vice-Chancellor, University of Aberdeen

Professor Hugh Brady, Vice-Chancellor and President, University of Bristol

Professor Amanda J. Broderick, Vice-Chancellor and President, University of East London

Liz Bromley, Joint Acting Vice-Chancellor, University of Central Lancashire

Professor Julia Buckingham CBE, Vice-Chancellor and President, Brunel University London

Professor Alec Cameron, Vice-Chancellor and Chief Executive, Aston University

Professor Joy Carter CBE, Vice-Chancellor, University of Winchester

Professor Andy Collop, Interim Vice-Chancellor, De Montfort University

Professor Shirley Congdon. Vice-Chancellor Elect, University of Bradford

Professor Stuart Croft, Vice-Chancellor and President, University of Warwick

Professor Paul Croney, Vice-Chancellor and Chief Executive, Teesside University

Professor Chris Day, Vice-Chancellor and President, Newcastle University

Professor Lynn Dobbs, Vice-Chancellor and Chief Executive, London Metropolitan University

Professor Sir David Eastwood, Vice-Chancellor, University of Birmingham

Professor Graham Galbraith, Vice-Chancellor, University of Portsmouth

Professor Pamela Gillies CBE, Principal and Vice-Chancellor, Glasgow Caledonian University

Professor David M. A. Green CBE, Vice-Chancellor and Chief Executive, University of Worcester

Professor Sir Chris Husbands, Vice-Chancellor, Sheffield Hallam University

Professor Koen Lamberts, President and Vice-Chancellor, University of Sheffield

Professor David Latchman CBE, Master, Birkbeck University of London

Professor John Latham, Vice-Chancellor, Coventry University

Professor Geoff Layer, Vice-Chancellor, University of Wolverhampton

Professor Susan Lea, Vice-Chancellor, University of Hull

Professor Jane Longmore, Vice-Chancellor, University of Chichester

Patrick Loughrey, Warden, Goldsmiths, University of London

Professor Helen Marshall, Vice-Chancellor, University of Salford

Professor Quintin McKellar CBE, Vice-Chancellor, University of Hertfordshire

Professor Trevor McMillan, Vice-Chancellor, Keele University

Professor Kathryn Mitchell, Vice-Chancellor and Chief Executive, University of Derby

Professor Sir Anton Muscatelli, Principal and Vice-Chancellor, University of Glasgow

Professor Paddy Nixon, Vice-Chancellor and President, Ulster University

Professor Nick Petford, Vice-Chancellor, University of Northampton

Professor Judith Petts CBE, Vice-Chancellor, University of Plymouth

Mr Andrew Rhodes, Registrar and Chief Operating Officer, Swansea University

Professor Colin Riordan, President and Vice-Chancellor, Cardiff University

Professor Mark E. Smith, Vice-Chancellor, Lancaster University

Professor Sir Steve Smith, Vice-Chancellor and Chief Executive, University of Exeter

Professor Steven Spier, Vice-Chancellor, Kingston University

Professor Mary Stuart, Vice-Chancellor, University of Lincoln

Professor Adam Tickell, Vice-Chancellor, University of Sussex

Professor Saul Tendler, Acting Vice-Chancellor and President, University of York

Professor Rob Warner, Vice-Chancellor and Chief Executive, Plymouth Marjon University

Professor Andrew Wathey CBE, Vice-Chancellor and Chief Executive, Northumbria University Newcastle

Professor Shearer West, Vice-Chancellor and President, University of Nottingham

Professor Steven West CBE, Vice-Chancellor, President and Chief Executive Officer,

University of the West of England

Professor Tim Wheeler, Vice-Chancellor and Principal, University of Chester

Related News

News | 04.03.24

Growing disconnect between students and their university experience, UPP Foundation report finds

News | 18.10.23

Students say climate change impacts their mental wellbeing

News | 26.09.23

New toolkit published by UPP Foundation and Student Hubs to encourage student volunteering

News | 19.07.23

Watch or download the 2023 UPP Foundation Lecture

News | 03.07.23

Reflections on Lord (Bob) Kerslake

News | 23.05.23

UPP Foundation and Student Hubs Announce Strategic Partnership

News | 11.05.23

University-led tutoring should be used nationwide to help narrow widening school attainment gaps, experts urge

News | 02.02.23

UPP Foundation and Higher Education Policy Institute Public Attitudes to Higher Education Survey 2022